55 Chapel Street, Suite 202, Newton, Ma 02458
www.nesca-newton.com
617-658-9800

75 Gilcreast Road, Suite 305, Londonderry, NH 03053
603-818-8526

NEWS & NOTES

Search This Blog

Thursday, April 25, 2013

Summer Programs For High School Students

From Educational Options, LLC

By Andrea van Niekerk
February 14, 2013

There are as many types of summer programs available as there are reasons to attend one. Some are offered by the continuing education units of colleges and universities themselves (like Summer Studies at Brown or Columbia’s School of Continuing Education) while others are delivered by private organizations making use of the facilities of a college (Explo at Yale, or ASA).

Some offer programs of fixed duration, while others offer programs that vary from one week to several (Brown Summer Studies). There are summer programs that focus on sports, on foreign travel, academic subjects, language instruction, or test preparation.

What follows below is very far from exhaustive, but is meant to give parents and students at least a taste of the adventures – intellectual, social and physical – that students can embark on over their summer vacations. The list is culled from many different sources, both online and in published form.

A particularly useful guide is Sandra Berger’s The Ultimate Guide to Summer Opportunities for Teens, although as with any published source, links can become outdated very quickly. College Goals does not vouch or advocate for any particular program, but many of our students have spent wonderful summers pursuing some of these opportunities.

Academic College-Based Programs

Many universities and colleges across the country offer summer programs, either in the liberal arts generally or in specific areas of focus such as the arts or engineering.

These are easy to find online, and below is just a small snapshot of what is available.

Barnard Summer in New York - www.barnard.edu/pcp
Boston U Summer Programs - www.bu.edu/summer/high-school-programs/
Brown Summer Studies - http://brown.edu/ce/pre-college/
Carnegie Mellon University Pre-College Programs - www.cmu.edu/enrollment/pre-college
Case Western Reserve University Precollege Scholars Program -  www.cwru.edu/provost/ugstudies/precollege.htm
Choate Rosemary Hall Summer - www.choate.edu/summerprograms/Columbia University Summer ce.columbia.edu/High-School-Programs-Homepage
Cornell University Summer College - www.summercollege.cornell.edu
Duke Talent Identification Program (various campuses) - www.tip.duke.edu
EPGY at Stanford - http://epgy.stanford.edu/summer
Emory University - www.college.emory.edu/pre-college
Explo at Yale - www.explo.org/
Great Books program at Stanford and Amherst - www.GreatBooksSummer.com
Harvard Summer Studies - http://www.summer.harvard.edu/
Johns Hopkins Center for Talented Youth (various campuses) - http://cty.jhu.edu/summer/
National Conference of Governor’s Schools - http://ncogs.org/web/index.php/View-users-list/All-Governor-s-School-Programs
Northfield Mount Hermon Summer Sessions - www.nmhschool.org/summer
Northwestern Center for Talent Development - www.ctd.northwestern.edu
Oxford Study Course – pre IB preparation - www.osc-ib.com/
Phillips Andover Summer Session - www.andover.edu/summersessionoutreach/summersession
Philips Exeter Summer Programs - http://www.exeter.edu/summer_programs/7313.aspx
Summer Discovery (US and overseas) - http://www.summerdiscovery.com/summer-discovery
Summer Studies for the Gifted - www.giftedstudy.org
Summer Study Programs (CU and Penn State) - www.summerstudy.com
Univ. of Chicago - https://summer.uchicago.edu/
Univ. of Delaware Summer College - http://summercollege.honors.udel.edu
Univ. of Miami Summer Scholars - http://miami.edu/dcie/index.php/ssp
Univ. of Penn Summer programs - www.sas.upenn.edu/summer/programs/highschool
University of Rochester Summer programs - http://enrollment.rochester.edu/admissions/precollege/
USC Summer Seminars - http://summer.usc.edu/index.shtml
Washington University Pre-College - http://ucollege.wustl.edu/programs/highschool

Engineering

CURIE Academy (Girls in Engineering) - www.engineering.cornell.edu/curie
Johns Hopkins U Engineering Innovation - http://engineering-innovation.jhu.edu/
MIT Women’s Technology Program - http://wtp.mit.edu
Missouri U S&T Nuclear Engineering camp - http://futurestudents.mst.edu/precollege/nuce.html
Purdue U Girls in Engineering - http://engineering.purdue.edu/WIEP/EDGE
Notre Dame U Introduction to Engineering - http://www.nd.edu/~iep/
Santa Clara Summer Engineering - www.scu.edu/engineering/undergraduate/ses.cfm
Smith College Summer Science and Engineering for Girls - www.smith.edu/summerprograms/ssep
Univ. of Alabama Engineering Summer Camp - http://site.eng.ua.edu/
Vanderbilt University PAVE Program - https://pave.vanderbilt.edu/ayindex.php
National Listing of Engineering Camps at - http://www.engineeringedu.com/camps/

Art

Academy of Art University San Francisco - http://www.academyart.edu/
Bard College at Simon’s Rock Young Writers Workshop - www.simonsrock.edu/young_writers
Boston University Summer Theatre Institute - http://www.bu.edu/cfa/busti/
California College of the Arts - www.cca.edu/academics/precollege
Camp Encore (music) - www.encore-coda.com
Carleton College Summer Writing Program - http://apps.carleton.edu/campus/SAP/writing
Carnegie Mellon University Pre-College Programs - www.cmu.edu/enrollment/pre-college
Center for Creative Youth at Wesleyan - www.crec.org/magnetschools/schools/ccy/
Idyllwild Summer Arts - http://www.idyllwildarts.org/summer.aspx
California State Summer School for the Arts - www.csssa.org
Interlochen Arts Camp - www.interlochen.org/camp
Kenyon Review Young Writers Summer Workshop - http://www.kenyonreview.org/workshops/young-writers/
North Carolina School of the Arts Summer - www.uncsa.edu/summersession/
Pratt Institute Pre-College - www.pratt.edu/academics/continuing_education_and_professional/pro_credit_programs/precollege/summer_programs/
Sarah Lawrence Film Institute - www.slc.edu/high-school
Savannah College of Arts and Design Summer Seminars - http://www.scad.edu/admission/pre-college/index.cfm
School of the Art Institute of Chicago -  http://www.saic.edu/continuing_studies/high_school/index.html
School of Creative and Performing Arts - http://www.socapa.org/
Univ. of Maine Summer Music - http://umaine.edu/spa/summer–]music–]camp–]msym/

A lot of local theatre companies will also have non-residential programs for students, like that of the Berkeley Repertory at: www.berkeleyrep.org/school/teen_index.asp

Architecture and Design

Cal-Poly San Luis Obispo Architecture Summer Camp -  http://www.arch.calpoly.edu/programs/summer-career.html
Carnegie Mellon University Pre-College Programs - www.cmu.edu/enrollment/pre-college
Catholic University of America Pre-College - http://summer.cua.edu/precollege
Oregon Design Camp - http://aaa.uoregon.edu/programs/portland/summerinthecity
Summer Academy in Architecture at UT Austin - www.utexas.edu/architecture/center/academy
USC Exploration of Summer - http://arch.usc.edu/programs/summer/explore

Entrepreneurship

Launch at MIT - http://www.launchsummer.org/
Babson College Summer Studies - http://www.babson.edu/undergraduate/summeratbabson/summer-study/Pages/home.aspx
Georgetown Entrepreneurship Institute - http://scs.georgetown.edu/courses_nc/XSPP106/entrepreneurship?cId=14625&dId=21&format=Institute
Univ. of Penn Jerome Fisher Program in Management and Technology - http://www.upenn.edu/fisher/summer/

Life Sciences

Adventures in Veterinary Medicine at Tufts - http://www.tufts.edu/vet/avm/high_school.html
Brown Environmental Leadership Lab - http://brown.edu/ce/pre-college/bell/
Environmental Studies Summer Institute at Hobart and William Smith Colleges - http://academic.hws.edu/enviro
Project Oceanology at UConn - www.oceanology.org
Sea Semester - www.sea.edu/academics/high_school_programs
Shoal Marine Lab Programs for High School - http://www.sml.cornell.edu/sml_students_highschool.html
U.C. Davis Young Scholars Program - http://ysp.ucdavis.edu/
University of Maryland Jump Start - http://hhmi.umd.edu/outreach/jumpstart
Washington University Pre-Medical - http://ucollege.wustl.edu/programs/highschool

Physical Sciences, Math and Engineering

Aerospace Institute Summer Camp at University of Illinois - www.ae.uiuc.edu/IAI
Awesome Math - https://www.awesomemath.org/summer-program/
BU Summer Internship Program - http://www.bu.edu/summer/high-schoolprograms/research- internship/
CAEN computer camp at University of Michigan - http://www.engin.umich.edu/caen/
Canada/USA Math Camp - http://www.mathcamp.org/
Clark Scholars Program - http://www.clarkscholars.ttu.edu/
Hampshire College Summer Studies in Mathematics - http://www.hcssim.org/
High School Honors Science, Math and Engineering Program - http://education.msu.edu/hshsp/
Honors Summer Math Camp- http://www.txstate.edu/mathworks/camps/hsmc.html
Garcia Summer Scholars - http://polymer.matscieng.sunysb.edu/hs.html
Georgia Tech Science, Math and Computing - https://www.ceismc.gatech.edu/summerprograms
High School Summer Science Research Program - http://www.baylor.edu/summerscience/
Hofstra University Summer Science Research - www.hofstra.edu/academics/colleges/hclas/sse
ID Tech camps - www.internaldrive.com/
Phillips Andover Academy Math and Science for Minority Students - www.andover.edu/summersessionoutreach/summersession
Program in Mathematics for Young Scientists (PROMYS) - www.promys.org
Puget Sound Math Camp - www.mathcamp.org/
Research Science Institute at MIT - www.cee.org/programs/rsi
Ross Mathematics Camp - http://www.math.osu.edu/ross/
Science and Engineering Apprenticeship at GWU - http://lideres.nclr.org/content/opportunities/detail/3920/
Secondary Student Training Program - http://www.education.uiowa.edu/belinblank/students/summer/programs/9-11/sstp/
Smith College Summer Science and Engineering for Girls - www.smith.edu/summerprograms/ssep
Stanford Math Camp - http://math.stanford.edu/sumac
Students Science Training Program - http://www.cpet.ufl.edu/SSTP/default.html
Summer Science Program - www.summerscience.org
Women’s Technology Program - http://wtp.mit.edu/

Archaeology

Brown University Summer Studies - www.brown.edu/ce/pre-college/
Crow Canyon Archaeology Camps - www.crowcanyon.org/archaeology
Center for American Archaeology - www.caa-archeology.org/EducationHSFS.html
University of Chicago (Egyptian Studies) - https://summer.uchicago.edu/highschool/programs

Communications & Journalism

American University School of communications - www.american.edu/soc/discover/
Ball State University Summer Journalism Workshop - www.bsujournalismworkshops.com
Carolina Journalism Institute - www.sc.edu/cmcis/so/cji
Emerson College Summer Program - www.emerson.edu/academics/professional-studies/programs-high-school-students
National High School Institute at Northwestern - www.northwestern.edu/nhsi/important_dates.html

An overview of summer journalism programs at: http://cubreporters.org/journalism_programs.html

History, Law & Economics

Foundation for Teaching Economics - http://www.fte.org/student–]programs/
Georgetown Summer Programs - http://scs.georgetown.edu/departments/21/summer-programs-for-high-school-students
National Institute of American History and Democracy - www.wm.edu/as/niahd/precollegiatesummer/index.php

Language Studies

Bryn Mawr Russian Language Institute - www.brynmawr.edu/russian/rli.htm
Concordia Language Villages - http://www.concordialanguagevillages.org/newsite/
Middlebury Language School - www.middlebury.edu/academics/ls

Overseas Programs

Broadreach (70 Programs in 40 Countries - Recommended!) - http://www.gobroadreach.com/
Academic Study Associates Summer Programs - www.asaprograms.com
Asian Studies at Sophia University, Tokyo - www.sophia.ac.jp/E/E_summersession.nsf/Content/summer
Encounter India - www.uwcmahindracollege.org/how/experiential/outreachprogrammes/encounter-india
Experiment in International Living - www.experimentinternational.org
Oxford Advanced Studies - www.oasp.ac.uk
Oxbridge Studies Program - www.oxbridgeprograms.com/index.php
Where There Be Dragons - www.wheretherebedragons.com

Sports Programs

Many colleges offer sports camp on their campuses over the summer. See, for example, the
University of Michigan’s listing, at www.mgoblue.com/camps/.

For a non-college based listing, see for example the Nike Sports Camps at www.ussportscamps.com/about/.

Adventure

Academic Tracks - www.academictreks.com/programs/overview_cs.asp
Action Quest Adventures - www.actionquest.com/go
Broadreach Summer Adventures - www.gobroadreach.com/?age=G2
Discovery Student Adventures - www.DiscoveryStudentAdventures.com
Keystone Mountain Adventures - www.keystone.org/cfe/kss/summer-programs/kma

Youth Leadership

Global Youth Leadership Conference (US, China, Central Europe - www.cylc.org/gylc/GYLC_dates.cfm
Hugh O’Brien Youth Leadership - http://www.hoby.org/
Junior State of America (JSA) Summer School Georgetown, Stanford, Princeton - http://jsa.org/summer-programs/
National Student Leadership Conference - www.nslcleaders.org
National Young Leaders Conference - www.cylc.org/nylc/NYLC_dates.cfm
National Youth Leadership Forum - www.nylf.org
Presidential Classroom - www.presidentialclassroom.org
St. Alban’s School of Public Service - www.stalbansschool.org/page.aspx?pid=413

Programs for Low-Income or Under-Represented Students

College Horizons for Native American Students - www.collegehorizons.org/
MITES (Minority Introduction to Math and Science - http://web.mit.edu/mites/
Phillips Andover Math and Science for Minority Students - www.andover.edu/summersessionoutreach/mathscience/pages/default.aspx
Questbridge (various campuses) - www.questbridge.org/
Stanford Medical Youth Science - http://smysp.stanford.edu/
Telluride Association Sophomore Camps - www.tellurideassociation.org/programs/high_school_students/tass/tass_general_info.html

Upward Bound - Programs are offered on campuses across the country. Google Upward Bound Summer.

Service-Oriented Programs

Academic Treks - www.academictreks.com/programs/overview_cs.asp
Do Something - www.dosomething.org/
Global Works Travel - www.globalworkstravel.com
Lifeworks International - www.lifeworks-international.com
Student Conservation Association - www.thesca.org
Texas Brigades Wildlife Leadership - www.texasbrigades.org
Washington School of World Studies - www.schoolofworldstudies.org/

Internships

Intern Exchange International (London) - www.internexchange.com
Julian Krinsky Camps (Philadelphia) - www.jkcp.com/internships/
AustraLearn (Australia and NZ) - www.australearn.org/programs/internships/
Projects Abroad - www.projects-abroad.org
Boston University Science Research Internships - www.bu.edu/summer/high-school-programs/

Useful Online Resources

...............................................................................

Reprinted with the permission of, and many thanks to:

Renee Goldberg
Educational Options, LLC
5 Suburban Road, # 503

Worcester, MA 01602

Tel. 508-304-9672

Fax: 508-304-9257


1 comment:

  1. I am so delighted to see the thorough detail on the summer programs. Great effort great work!

    veterinary online ce

    ReplyDelete